Saturday 22nd July 2017

Bingley Show


Our Sponsors

2015 Show President - Mr Harvey Smith


Harvey is a local lad who started riding as a young boy on a local milk pony and found early success on a horse named Farmer’s boy.


He went on to have an illustrious show jumping career winning over 50 Grand Prix events representing Britain in two Olympics (Mexico in 1968, and Munich, West Germany in 1972).


Harvey also jumped in European events with an individual second place on Harvester in 1967.


Harvey has been a great supporter of Bingley show over many years. He was only a young boy when he first entered the show jumping in 1947. Since then Harvey and his two sons, Robert and Stephen, have all competed down in the Bottom Meadow, Myrtle Park on Show day.


It is a real privilege for the Show, as all three have represented Britain at the Olympics. More recently Joel, Harvey’s grandson, has kept the family tradition going and, two years ago, Harvey and his wife Sue brought Auroras Encore (Winner of the 2013 Grand National) down to the Main Ring for everyone to get a close look at. He proved a big hit.


Harvey has chosen New Beginnings as his charity for the show. New Beginnings look after retired racehorses. Harvey and his wife Sue are bringing Mr McGoldrick to this year’s show.  Mr McGoldrick, or Mac as he is affectionately known, is probably Yorkshire’s favourite old race horse. Now retired, this horse won many races and was trained by Sue up on Bingley Moor. His favourite course was Wetherby where he won eight times.


Richard Longley, the owner of the, horse named him Mr McGoldrick after the Leeds cardiac surgeon who performed life saving surgery on Richard.


Harvey welcomes you all to the 2015 Bingley Show. As usual, there is so much to see and do, making it a great day out. Enjoy the equestrian events and look out for Mr McGoldrick.


Visit the 'New Beginnings' Website

Show President











The 2015 show president

was Mr Harvey Smith


Past Presidents


S Priestley - 2014

D Green - 2013

D Illingworth - 2011

M Preston - 2010

M Walker - 2009

K McGuinness - 2008

R P Robinson, JP - 2007

D Pulman - 2006

G Warin - 2005

A Race - 2004

A Wintersgill - 2003

A Wintersgill - 2001

G Hardwick - 2000

D Jagger  - 1999

T E Wright - 1998

F Brammah - 1997

G R Lister, CBE - 1996

J M Green - 1995

J A Hinchliffe, JP - 1994




Copyright 2016 - Bingley Show - All Rights Reserved - Information displayed is subject to change without notice and Airdale Agricultural Society cannot be held responsible for its accuracy.